VHS Competition Cheer Team places 3rd in Texas 

The Vandegrift Competition Cheer Team traveled to Fort Worth to compete in the UIL Spirit Competition on January 4. There were over 30 teams competing in the coed division from all over the state. 

The preliminary round was the qualifier to advance to finals and only the top 20 teams – including VHS – advanced. After a phenomenal performance, VHS placed 3rd when winners were announced.

Tryouts for the team took place in October and the members have put in many hours of extra practice since that time including practicing and traveling over the holiday break. 

The Vandegrift Competition Cheer Team is led by Head Coach Brianna Roughton and Assistant Coach Claire McCutcheon. Team members: Brooke Ibarguen (captain), Sienna Ceder (co-captain), Brooke Tjelmeland (co-captain), Kenzie Kudrick, Tyler Smith, Anna Jacobs, Charley Vollmer, Reese Hammes, Lyla Louden, Mecklyn Miller, Madeline Bischoff, Bailey McCarley, Maria Kundrouf, Carter Young, Katha Strenk, Caitlin Henry, Britney McCarley, Lynleigh Schulte, Kambrie Schulte, Jenna Chavez, Ellie Bergquist, Caitlyn Tejada, Courtney Clark, Leigh Blakeney, Miles Coleman, Gage Garrison, Rylan Wisdom, Alex Foster, Zaid Oliver, Dylan Linahan. Alternates: Kendall Miltonberger, Avery Frollo, Karis Angie, Roxy Jacops, Gianna Ludlow