1 finalist, 5 semifinalist in TX robotics Dean’s list 

Alex Diaz

Shriya Ganesan

The Robotics FIRST Tech challenge Dean’s list 2022 consists of five semi-finalists and one finalist from Vandegrift. 

The semi-finalists were Sapna Bhatt, Alex Diaz, Anjali Gorti, Cooper Nelson, and Megan Nguyen. In addition, Shriya Ganesan was a Dean’s list finalist this year.

“I am extremely proud of our Dean’s list nominees. All of them truly represent the core values of FIRST, ViperBots, and gracious professionalism. These are amazing individuals who are ambassadors for FIRST,” said Irad Allen, head robotics coach at VHS. 

The number of finalists varies by state. Statewide, Texas is allowed 14 finalists. Nationally, ten students will be selected as winners. The winner of a Dean’s list earns the interest of prestigious colleges across the U.S. 

Much like National Merit Scholarship, students who are Robotics FIRST Tech challenge Dean’s list scholars are recognized for their leadership, interest, passion, and commitment to FIRST Robotics’ core values. Nominees must be sophomores or juniors.

Students are nominated by their teammates and approved by their mentors and/or coaches. Nominated students must have shown their effectiveness at increasing awareness of robotics in their school and community. They are widely recognized as having technical expertise and provide a strong contribution to their team. They embody entrepreneurship and creativity. They show the ability to motivate and lead fellow team members. Although not required, a strong GPA helps as well.

After receiving a nomination for Dean’s List, each student must submit an essay and undergo a grueling interview process.

Expertise, dedication and passion have brought these local students to this level.