Vandegrift journalism students recognized at top levels

The award-winning Vandegrift student newspaper, yearbook, and photography teams are back in action for the 2023-2024 school year. VHS Student Media

The 2022-23 Vandegrift Voice editors (middle) Isabel Young, Yness Martinez and Abigail Lincks surrounded by Class of 2023 staff Shivaali Vibarajan, Sarah McKelvy and illustrator Bailey Niles.

By CLAYTON KELLEY, Hill Country News 

Vandegrift newspaper and yearbook programs brought home top level awards for the 2022-23 school year from the Interscholastic League Press Conference and the National Scholastic Press Association.

Interscholastic League Press Conference 

Entertainment Photo – Yness Martinez – First Place

General News Photo – Valeria Amaya – First Place

Headlines – Seiya Mutreja – First Place

News Feature – Abigail Lincks – Second Place

Personal Opinion Column – Lincks – First Place

Personal Column – Aisha Rashid – Second Place

Photo Portfolio – Amaya – Second Place

Yearbook Stars – Veteran – Bronze Star

Silver Crown Award – The Veteran Yearbook  

Silver Crown Award – The Voice Digital Newspaper 

National Scholastic Press Association

Feature Photo – Kaya Kinsey – First Place

News Photo – Valeria Amaya – Second Place

News Photo – Mary Bahrami – Third Place