Steiner transitions to solely homeowner leadership, Candidates needed for several board seats


The newly formed voting districts are comprised of neighborhoods within the Steiner Ranch Master Association that are similar in size and location.

The newly formed voting districts are comprised of neighborhoods within the Steiner Ranch Master Association that are similar in size and location.

By KIM ESTES, Four Points News

The Steiner Ranch Master Association will transition into a totally homeowner-run board and, to do so, its constituency has been divided into five districts.

“This is an exciting time for Steiner Ranch; a time in which residents will lead the community,” said Randy Schmaltz, executive director of the Steiner Ranch Homeowners’ Association.

Voters will go to the polls in April and choose one representative from their district and two at large representatives, for a total of three votes per constituency, to serve on the new seven-member SRMA board of directors.

Simultaneously, an election for two seats on the five-member Steiner Ranch Residential Owners Association is also scheduled. SRROA homeowners already control that board.

Candidates for both boards are needed, Schmaltz said.

A meeting for those interested in serving on either was Feb. 3 at Towne Square. Information about the election process and board duties was provided.   

The SRMA board election and annual meeting is April 19 and the SRROA election and annual meeting is April 21.

The SRMA transition comes as developer, Taylor Morrison, gives up its two seats on the SRMA board.

“They are (almost) through building, so they are transitioning out,” Schmaltz said.

Taylor Morrison is still building in the Lakeview Condominium and Grove subdivisions.

The SRMA election will be more complex than in years past.

Currently, in addition to the two developer positions, the SRMA board has four homeowner positions, Schmaltz said.

The size of the SRMA and the diversity of its residents require the election of seven board members.

Five members will be elected from newly formed voting districts, comprised of neighborhoods within the SRMA that are similar in size and location. The other two members will be residents vying for at large seats. Terms are one to two years, depending on which seat the member is elected to serve.

The change means that for the first time both SRMA and SRROA will be 100 percent homeowner-run.

In the late 90’s, Steiner Ranch’s original developer sold Steiner Ranch Ltd. to Taylor Woodrow Communities. Homeowners at that time did not want to be under developer control and the group transitioned to the SRROA.

SRROA is comprised of homeowners from the Valley of Eastridge, the Summit of Eastridge, Plateau, Rocky Ridge, Hancock Hill, Mesa North and Chaparral.

SRMA voting districts are:

  • District 1 – UT Golf Community, The Fairways, Casitas, Beverly Ridge, Lakeview, The View
  • District 2 – Bellagio Estates, The Headlands, Estates of Westridge, Majestic Oaks, Longhorn Canyon, Hills of Westridge
  • District 3 – Canyon Glen, Parkside, River Heights Overlook, Towne Hollow, Shire Ridge, River Heights Grove
  • District 4 – Lakewood Hills, Las Brisas, Rio Mesa, Summer Vista, Savannah Point, Savannah
  • District 5 – The Bluffs, The Grove, Santaluz, Sierra Vista, Monterey, Belcara, Palisades, Emerald Ridge, Mediterra, Tierra Grande

For more information on the SRMA board or the SRROA board and on the election, contact Schmaltz at