Viper Choir Booster awards $3,000 in scholarships

Pictured L to R: Kristin Burritt-Judge, Cherisse Smyser-President, Viper Choir Boosters, Megan Schmitt, Andrea Patriarca, Sarah Lum, Riley Galligher and Allison Collier, Viper Choir Boosters.


The Vandegrift High School Viper Choir Boosters awarded $3,000 in tuition scholarships at the Viper Choir Banquet on May 18 at the University of Texas Golf Club. 

Viper Choir Boosters award scholarships to those students who have made significant contributions to the VHS choir. The scholarships are non-renewable and non-discriminatory. 

The number of scholarships and amounts awarded are determined by the executive board annually. This year, two awards of $1,000 each and two awards of $500 each were presented to seniors who completed a rigorous application process and were judged to be the top four scores by an independent panel of judges. 

The Viper Choir Boosters would like to thank this year’s judges, Kristin Burritt, former Leander Middle School choir director, Andrew Perrone, VHS physics and robotics instructor, and Mackenzie Malone, former Canyon Ridge Middle School choir director. 

Vandegrift class of 2021 choir students who plan to attend a qualified college or university within the next year were eligible to apply. The applicants have had to participate not only in daily classes, but also concerts, solo performances, ensembles, etc. Applicants are judged on essay, choir activities, academics, other school and community activities and personal growth. This year’s recipients are:

Riley Galligher – $1,000 award – University of Texas at Austin

Sarah Lum – $1,000 award – University of Texas at Austin

Andrea Patriarca – $500 award – Baylor University

Megan Schmitt – $500 award – University of Connecticut

Viper choir awards banquet



The Vandegrift Viper choir held its annual awards banquet on May 18 at the University of Texas Golf Club. Highlights of the evening were the students singing in person, together, for the first time this year and performing “The Ground” and “Irish Blessing”.

Students were recognized for their accomplishments during the year, including participants in the All State Choir Audition Process and Solo Finals contests.

Non varsity awards 

         Concert Treble Choir

Leadership Award – Vaishali Raman

Service Award –  Reese Whitaker & Eden McSpadden

Musicianship Award – Casey Caldwell 

Concert Tenor/Bass  

Leadership Award – Ben Frollo

Service Award –  James Penver 

Musicianship Award – Reuben Varghese

A Cappella

Leadership Award – Joylynn Jogee

Service Award – Meghan Wood

Musicianship Award – Avani Rayasa

Varsity awards 

Chorale Women

Leadership Award – Riley Galligher 

Service Award –  Andrea Patriarca

Musicianship Award – Maura Connors 

Chorale Men

Leadership Award – Noah Levine

Service Award – Mikey Gleason

Musicianship Award – Jack Strauss

Second to None  

Andrea Patriarca, Mikey Gleason

Viper Choir Director’s Award

This award is an all-encompassing SENIOR award for Leadership, Service, and Musicianship. This student is chosen by the directors and is a person that represents the Viper Choir Program at the highest levels every single day and has done so for four years. 

Sarah Lum

Viper Choir Student Leadership 2021-22

Co presidents – Raine Collier, Phoebe Smyser

Officers- Luke Pronga, Maura Connors, Neha Poreddy

Each year, the directors award Individuals in the various choirs the following:

The Leadership Award goes to a student that leads their section and their ensemble by the way they work in class every day. This award goes to the student that has had the strongest work-ethic, even on days when it was difficult, and who encourages the students around them either verbally or by example to always work hard. 

The Service Award goes to a student that has throughout the year served their ensemble and the VHS choir program. This can look like volunteering to move risers, cleaning the choir room, teaching choreography, or anything above and beyond just coming to class. True leaders are ones that serve alongside those they are leading. 

The Musicianship Award goes to a student that has demonstrated a high level of musical competence. This student is a strong sight reader and leads their section by demonstrating high levels of musicianship within their choir.