VHS cheer earns top honors at NCA Camp

NCA Staff Invitations: (L-R) Riley Francis, Micaela Tejada, Brooklyn Chase, Sumerlyn Yudell


Vandegrift cheerleaders, under the direction of head coach Brianna Roughton and coach Rachel Hoyle, came home with several team and individual awards from the National Cheerleaders Association (NCA) camp held Aug. 4-7 in Galveston, Tex. 

The Vandegrift Cheer program received the prestigious Herkie Award, voted on by the NCA staff and given to the top all-around program at camp that exemplifies unity, spirit and leadership. Approximately 30 other cheer teams comprised of over 600 cheerleaders from throughout the state competed at the camp.

The varsity squad placed first in Team Cheer and first in Team Chant, and won Excellence in Tumbling and Excellence in Jumps awards at the evaluations. 

The JV squad placed first in Team Cheer and first in Team Chant for their division. 

Both squads were awarded spirit sticks for exemplary spirit and enthusiasm, earned all Superior ribbons at evaluations, and received bids to NCA’s national competition, given to squads that exemplify competitive cheerleading ability.

“We have high standards for our program, and this year’s teams achieved every goal we set for camp,” said Roughton. “I’m thrilled that our squads were recognized not only for their elite cheerleading abilities but for their strong leadership as well.”

Varsity co-captain Sumerlyn Yudell received the Individual Leadership award, an honor given to only three cheerleaders at the camp. Four varsity cheerleaders were invited to apply for NCA cheer camp instructors: Brooklyn Chase, Riley Francis, Micaela Tejada and Sumerlyn Yudell. They were chosen by NCA staff for their superior cheerleading skills and leadership potential.

A record 26 Vandegrift cheerleaders also were named to the NCA All-American team for displaying superior techniques in the following areas: jumps, tumbling, stunting, crowd skills and motion technique, leadership, and dance. 

Varsity All-American team members include: Joshua Branstetter, Hannah Broadhead, Caroline Caldwell, Ana Chartier, Brooklyn Chase, Riley Francis, Avery Goeters, Brianna Hernandez, Tori Jennings, Cate Kruczek, Sara Pacheco, Miranda Saenz, Phoebe Sander, Micaela Tejada, Jenna Tjelmeland, Fabi Tripoli, Emily Wagner and Cady Grace Wynn.

JV All-American team members include: Emma Brod, Ava Coulter, Lauren Jones, Kaytlin Krant, Alina Kudrick, Alyssa Mojica, Ami Stelling and Cady Wong.

Vandegrift Viper all-American cheerleaders Front Row (L to R): Emma Brod, Ava Coulter, Ami Stelling, Sara Pacheco, Cate Kruczek, Miranda Saenz, Kaytlin Krant, Alina Kudrick, Cady Wong Middle Row (L to R): Lauren Jones, Emily Wagner, Tori Jennings, Caroline Caldwell, Josh Branstetter, Fabi Tripoli, Brianna Hernandez, Jenna Tjelmeland, Alyssa Mojica Back Row (L to R): Micaela Tejada, Hannah Broadhead, Phoebe Sander, Cady Grace Wynn, Ana Chartier, Avery Goeters, Brooklyn Chase, Riley Francis