Vandegrift Homecoming 2017 photos

Photos by Erin Seitzler, Bill Seitzler, Pamela Campbell, Monica Little



By LYNETTE HAALAND, Four Points News  

MEGAN MESSER, Vandegrift Voice

Homecoming at Vandegrift brought out community spirit.

The eighth annual Vandegrift Homecoming parade at VHS was enjoyed by numerous organizations and hundreds of spectators on Oct. 4.

At the parade, PALS took the honor for the best parade float with their downtown Austin-themed float.   

“It was honestly so cool to actually win the competition for having the best float,” junior PALS member Abby Gunn said.

FFA, featured live animals with their float during the parade. “Everyone always comes to pet the animals. They’re so cute,” said Ashley Burton, senior and FFA vice president.

Band and Vision Dance showcased their talents in the parade while they marched and played.  

Sophomore band member Amanda Cook said, “I think the students really make it an amazing experience for everyone and it’s really cool to see what the school community as a whole can do.”

The parade featured many other local organizations and teams including basketball, soccer, cross country, football, cheer, dance and Four Points Pop Warner football and cheer.

 “Homecoming has always been so fun for me, so being able to have most of a community come out to support VHS is always great,” Burton said. “The excitement that comes with all the music, decorations and students really brings out all of our school spirit.”

Then on Friday night, the 2017-2018 Vandegrift Homecoming King and Queen Justin Moore and Ellie Crooks were crowned during halftime of the game against Lehman HS.

The Viper student section, band, dance, choir and cheer all made the homecoming game night special.

The homecoming senior court included Rehaan Adhickory, Emma Richardson, Nolan Ward, Natalie Root. The junior prince and princess were Aidan Pittsenbarger, Piper Swearengin, the sophomore prince and princess were Jack Doczy, Peyton Meadows and the freshman prince and princess Noah Levine, Natalie Wong.